Pan fried potatoes with sage

I have made these 3 times in the last week…

Which makes me a little excessive and these potatoes very tasty.

fried potatoes with sage 1

I have had plenty of help in eating them and have since given the recipe, or instructions rather to 2 of my fried potatoes with sage eating companions, one of whom is a very particular, opinionated Italian -the kind you are not sure whether to slap or kiss. They are my new favorite thing and I think I will be making them rather alot Amen.

I had seen the recipe posted over at Rebekka’s Nom di Plume a while ago and I noted it down in the big notebook which sits by the computer, the one I regularly rest and then spill coffee onto so I have to dry it in the sun where it crinkles and expands and now it looks a bit like a open accordion. Then Rebekka changed her header to the most delicious photo of the potatoes in question and I was compelled to make them.

I am not sure my photo really does them justice so maybe some words will help.

Diced potatoes fried so they are deliciously crispy and golden on the outside but soft and yielding in the center sprinkled with coarse salt and then speckled with crumbled deep fried sage leaves which lend a quite deliciously musty, peppery  edge to the whole affair and transform the already delicious fried potatoes into something quite special.

fried sage leaves

The deep fried sage leaves were a little revelation to me, I often saute fuzzy, velvety sage leaves in butter to toss with ravioli, but gently, so the leaves are deliciously soft, floppy and fragrant. Deep frying them is another thing altogether, they become crisp like brittle autumn leaves so you can crumble them between your fingers, the pleasantly musty flavour is less pungent and strangely alluring. The first couple of times I made them I fried about 6 leaves which I crumbled over – delicious, but not enough sage. This time I doubled the quantity of leaves, leaving some whole to scatter over – better. Next time I am thinking 1 cube of potato = 1 leaf, best eaten picked up between two fingers and washed down with a cold beer.

Potatoes aside I think these sage leaves will be popping up and crumbling all over the place in our kitchen now we are acquainted.

Note to myself, soak, soak, rinse, rinse the diced potatoes, they need it to get rid of all the starch, then dry, dry, dry, they fry better that way.

potatoes soaking

The first time I made them we ate them with bacon and eggs and far to much coffee, a brunch which left me extremely happy if not a little jittery. The second time – a supper I will be doing again- we ate them with some oven baked sea bass and garlic flecked mayonnaise which everyone agreed was all very nice indeed. The third time – the photos from this post) we ate them just so, lots of sage, eaten with our fingers with a cold beer – it is the way I think.

Pan fried potatoes with sage

  • olive oil (not extra virgin)
  • 10 or 12 sage leaves (or more, I am thinking 25 next time)
  • 6 or 7 golden, yellow fleshed, thin skinned, waxy potatoes such as Yukon gold
  • coarse sea salt you can crumble (maldon worked really well)

Gently wash and scrub the potatoes but do not peel them (I did this time just to experiment. Conclusion = don’t peel). Chop them into 1/2″ dice and them leave them to soak in cold water for 30 minutes to wash away all the starch.

Dry the potatoes carefully and then in a heavy based frying pan heat about an inch of oil.

To see if the oil is hot enough try frying a sage leaf, it should sizzle happily.

Once the oil is ready drop in the sage leaves and leave them to sizzle and fry for about 10 seconds when they should be crisp. Using a slotted spoon, scoop out the sage leaves and drain them on some kitchen towel. Set them aside.

Now fry the potatoes in batches turning frequently until they are golden and crisp. Once they are done use the slotted spoon to move them to drain on kitchen towel, immediately sprinkle with a nice amount of salt. Fry the next batch while you taste the cooling ones and try not to burn your mouth.

Once all the potatoes are fried crumble over some of the sage leaves and scatter over the rest whole.

Eat.

fried potatoes with sage 2

13 Comments

Filed under food, recipes, Uncategorized, vegetables

13 responses to “Pan fried potatoes with sage

  1. elp

    <3 love these <3

  2. Rachel-I’ve just come across your blog, and I love love love it. The photos of your food bring me right back to Rome. I’m looking forward to reading through your posts.

  3. Goodness. They look so damnably good…

    Plus, I’d suggest you’ve done an excellent job in both words and pics. That top one makes me want to dive in greedily.

    Deep-fried sage (in large amounts) is a very grand thing.

  4. Ah spuds! Fried! With herbs! Life doesn’t get better than this :)

  5. oh yeah, rachel. this could be the perfect tapas/roman tapas? i think washing it down w/ a beer is necessary!

  6. fried potatoes & herbs always hit the spot.

  7. Oh, YES!!!!!! Yours look so beautiful. I hope you eat fried sage on everything. I love it especially with scraggly-brown-edged fried eggs.

    But, now I must eat these with cold beer. You are right, that is probably the only way…

  8. Oh dear god, just as I’ve finished my potato eating binge! completely agree that fried sage is a revelation, 1:1 ratio sounds just about right to me.

  9. “(or more, I am thinking 25 next time)”

    HA! Yes. Sounds like more is the way here. Another convincing, lovely, delicious post. Thanks Rachel.

  10. Rachel, just when my kitchen has been thoroughly degreased, you have inspired me to break out the oil and cast iron. And a beer.

  11. Pingback: Sunday lunch in pictures….. « rachel eats

  12. Pingback: Pump it up. « rachel eats

  13. Pingback: Recipes to Try | Live and Learn

Leave a Reply

