Not quite wordless Wednesday

Saturday lunch

P1040897

and Sunday lunch

P1040953

P1040971

I spent a nice chunk of last weekend reading and cooking from Richard Olney’s Simple French Food.

On Saturday we had Baked fish (sea bass) with potatoes and red onion. Then on Sunday Grape Harvesters Soup ( which is a simple onion soup really served over bread) followed by warm slices of potatoes and hard-boiled egg with shallot dressing and some very nice goats cheese.

We also ate a quite impresssive quantity of clementines and roasted chestnuts.

All of the above deserve more words…….they just haven’t come to me yet.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Not quite wordless Wednesday

  1. your pictures tell a story of a weekend well-dined,
    beautiful, rustic fare!
    shallot dressing! i shall have to remember…

  2. That’s the only way to spend a weekend as far as I’m concerned.

  3. Oh oh oh…this all looks too good to be true. Especially “…warm slices of potatoes and hard-boiled egg with shallot dressing and some very nice goats cheese” Fabulous!

  4. I know what you mean about not having words. I’ve been thinking about blogging more often, with more photos, less words…But words are my thing. The public nature of a blog demands a certain kind of voice from me that is not always there.

    • rachel

      The odd photo post can fill a gap…… but if, as you put so perfectly ‘words are your thing’ it’s not really that satisfying…..x

  5. I seem to be in a perpetual state of no words these days…

    That soup is right up my ally, but I think I’m going to make your chickpea soup with pasta this weekend:)

    • rachel

      I was thinking about you the other day having made some rather weird chickpea fries which weren’t your recipe because the internet went down……Hoping your words come back as I -rather selfishly- miss your lovely posts.

  6. i really wish i lived near you and we were friends and you would invite me over every weekend and cook for me (run on sentence). i want some of those potato/eggs.

  7. dear amy and rachel,

    let’s all live on a commune in italy.

    love,
    claudia

    ps – nancy should come too

Leave a Reply

