sinking in

DSC_1745

Sometimes you leave the dishes for a bit to long, other things too. Hello. I have decided that a good way of keeping up here, is to link up to my weekly column in The Guardian every Friday at this time, so 4 0′ clock Roman Time.

The column is now called A Kitchen in Rome, but my faithful sink still features from time to time. The plan is that I also include things here that I didn’t have space for in the column, a recipe I mention in the article perhaps, another picture, or something I forgot. In fact let me start straight away by noting that in today’s column I talk about Roman Misticanza, a mixed salad of wild greens and herbs. An hour or so after submitting my column, I came across a paragraph in a book from the 1970’s which suggests adding large peeled grapes to the misticanza. It find this idea thoroughly lovely. I can imagine the sweetness of the grapes – big, crisp greens one that burst between your teeth – contrasting with the bitter leaves. I also want to further mention a book I refer to in the Column, Gillian Riley’s Oxford Companion to Food. It is my constant companion, always open on my desk as a reference book and source of inspiration. Informative, illuminating and witty it is an irresistible book. If you love Italian food and culture, I highly recommend it.

More housekeeping, I now have a new website. It is very basic, bare bones really, but it is a place in which I can gather everything together, practical things about the book, events and workshops I am doing. It also means this blog, updated intermittently but faithfully, can be kept for stories and recipes. I will be writing more about Sicily in the coming months, as soon we are about to decamp to A Kitchen in Gela so I can work on my second book, the working title of which is Two kitchens. The house in Gela has a terrific sink, Vincenzo’s grandmother’s sink, which I enjoy standing at very much (even though I could do with being 6 inches shorter).

DSC_3256

But for now, back to A kitchen in Rome. This week’s column is all about Wild greens, and not so wild greens. You can also scroll back and read some of the 26 columns of you like, my favourite of which is about lemons.

DSC_4772

More soon.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “sinking in

  1. Maria

    26 already! how time flies. I read them always, sadly don’t usually have time to cook from them (more on that another day).
    Excited to hear about the next book. I too am too tall (though not 6 inches) for my mother’s ‘standard’ Spanish height sink.

  2. Russell Norman

    Love ❤️ Gillian.
    x

  3. I love your Guardian column (and everything else). You must record your book for Audible!

  4. That sink looks awfully familiar… 😉

  5. laura

    Ben tornata! And thank you for the link to your new website and its organization of all your accomplishments. It has now been saved in my favorites just below Rachel Eats! I gave your book to a dear friend who loves everything about it, just as I do. Will look forward to the post giving news of the publication of Two Sinks!

  6. Off to check out your new website.

  7. Catching up – love this, Rachel!

  8. Paul

    You’ll back! Lovely!

  9. love your blog, your writing, your website, your column, even your kitchen sink! Made your tagliatelle with leeks and mussels. It was just absolutely wonderful. So enjoying following you from my kitchen in Kingston, Canada.

  10. Annabelle Reid

    Hi Rachel

    When do you expect your new book to be published?

  11. Hello from New York. I am enjoying your blog very much and hope to recreate some of your lovely dishes very soon. I am curious to learn how you manage cooking in Gela without potable water. (I find it difficult to constantly carry around a big bottle of drinking water.) What are your strategies? Can you use tap water for boiling/cooking? Or do you buy bottled?

Leave a comment